Circulation

How to Borrow and Return Library Materials

Please bring your library card with you in order to check out items; we cannot check out items to you without a library card or photo ID. If you are picking up holds for a friend or family member, please make sure you bring their library card with you.

Movies check out for one week; most other library materials are loaned out for two weeks.

If you are unable to return your items by the due date, you may call or log in to your online account to renew them. Late fees are five cents per day. Items returned within a week of the due date will not receive any late fees.

Items can be returned in the drop box located in the parking garage below the library, in the drop box in the parking lot of the Lincoln Beach Thriftway, at Newport Public Library, or at any Tillamook County Library. Please note that the Thriftway drop box is not checked every day, so time-sensitive materials should not be left there.

Please notify the library if your library card is lost or if you change your name, address, or phone number.

Please report damage to anything you borrow, whether it was damaged in your care or before you borrowed it.


How to Get a Library Card

Driftwood Public Library is a member of the Oceanbooks Network, a partnership with Tillamook County Library System and Newport Public Library. Your library card can be used at Driftwood Public Library, Newport Public Library, and any Tillamook County library.

Our library cards are free to residents of Lincoln County. To apply for a full-privilege library card, we need you to fill out an application and provide the following:

  • Your full name
  • Physical residential address, including apartment number if applicable
  • Mailing address if you use a post office box
  • Telephone number
  • A current, valid photo ID such as an Oregon Driver's License, State I.D., or Tribal I.D. Federal I.D. cards are also acceptable if you do not have an Oregon License. If your photo ID does not have current, local address, an alternative proof of physical address will be needed such as one of the following:
    • First-class mail posted within the past 30 days
    • Imprinted personal check
    • Pay stub
    • Bank statement
    • Lease
    • Rent receipt
    • Utility bill
    • Property tax receipt
  • For patrons under the age of 18, a parent or legal guardian must be present at the time of sign-up.

Individuals residing in residential programs for people experiencing homelessness may obtain a full-privilege card by providing a letter on official program letterhead signed by the program director or the director’s designee.

Visiting? No proof of address? No problem. DPL offers a Provisional Card to those who are in the area temporarily or who cannot provide proof of address. This card allows for two check-outs at a time as well as access to the library’s electronic materials. It is good for 90 days and can be renewed. After a probationary period of 120 days, provisional cardholders with their accounts in good standing (under $25 in fines or fees, with no lost or billed items) may request to be upgraded to a full-privilege card.